2017 PhD Thesis Presentation Contest Finalists

On 6 October 2017 in Augsburg, at the annual meeting of the German-Ukrainian Academic Society, the Final of the 2017 PhD Thesis Presentation Contest will take place. Six bright PhD students from Austria, Germany and the UK were selected to explain their PhD research in a 5-minute presentation:

  • Natalia Korniy, MSc/PhD Program “Molecular Biology“, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen

  “Shedding light onto the black box of protein synthesis”

  • Maryna Rabinovych, I.I.Mechnikov Odessa National University/ University of Hamburg

   “The EU Free Trade Agreements as an Instrument of Promoting the Rule of Law in Eastern Neighbourhood”

  • Martin Rohde, Leopold-Franzens-Universität, Innsbruck

  “Shevchenko Scientific Society and the outline of Ukrainian national territory”

  • Bohdan Tokarskyj, University of Cambridge

  “The Poetry of Becoming: The Exploration of Self in Vasyl Stus’s Palimpsests”

  • Ivan Vorotiahin, TU Darmstadt

  “Flexoelectric Influence on Static and Dynamic Properties of Ferroelectric Films”

  • Oleksandr Yagensky, International Max Planck Research School for Molecular Biology , Georg August University of Göttingen/ Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen

  “Unraveling the Secrets of Alzheimer’s Disease”

The jury will consist of the following members of the Society:

  • Prof. Yarema Okhrin, University of Augsburg, Head of the 2017 PhD Presentation Contest Committee
  • Prof. Olga Garaschuk, University of Tübingen
  • Dr Denys Makarov, Helmholtz Center Dresden-Rossendorf
  • Dr Stefaniya Ptashnyk, The Heidelberg Academy of Sciences & Humanities
  • Dr Nelia Wanderka, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien & Energie

If you are interested to attend the 2017 Final please register at the event-website!

Our PhD Thesis Presentation Contest is supported by:

  • Nomad Biosciences GmbH
  • Global Business Management (Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät, Universität Augsburg)
  • Embassy of Ukraine in Germany